Update/Reflection- Week of 2.20

I haven’t written on here for about a week, so it was about time for an update.

I didn’t get a lot of physical work done this week, but the learning process never ends.
Most recently, I have watched several presentations from the online Tiny House Summit, available for free here if you’re interested (during this week only!). Some of the biggest names in tiny houses have presented on their story, tiny house legality, new ideas, and a jumble of other things. I particularly enjoyed Andrew Odom’s presentation about the history and evolution of tiny homes. I also look forward to the presentation by Tiny Nest which I believe will be online later today. Tiny Nest was the first youtube channel about tiny house building that I really started to follow. Jake and Kiva designed and built their tiny all by themselves, which was a big inspiration to me early on in the process!

In other news, I have been doing more work on the interior of my tiny house.
I think I have finalized the framing plans, and have been putting deeper thought into how to design my interior.
Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 12.59.51.png

For everyone keeping score at home, you may notice that there is no longer a window on the tongue end of the trailer! I had originally planned for a small picture or double-hung window centered over the kitchen counter there, but I have reconsidered.
My main reason is because I couldn’t find a window in the proper dimensions. I was even willing to spend a little money on it (since I came in under budget with the rest of my windows), but I couldn’t find one for a good price on CL, in a salvage warehouse, or even from Marvin’s magical room of returned windows! It’s not that there is a lack of windows in the market, it’s just that there aren’t many windows of the dimensions necessary.
I’m not too broken up about not having a window there since it’ll make things easier in the end. One less rough opening to frame, fewer materials used, less flashing to figure out, etc. And since that end of the tiny is a shear wall, leaving out a window will make it stronger. Added bonus; without a window there, I can make the shed on the tongue taller! More storage, the better.

As for my interior, I have been playing around with the Sketchup model.

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 13.15.40.png
View of the bedroom area, seen from the living area. In the spaces where I have planned things like shelves or cabinets, a white box is in their place. On the right side is a closet, going from the floor to the loft. In the bedroom you can see the bed, taking up all of the floor space. Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 13.18.05.pngIn this view, you can see the bed has halved in size, leaving space open to do whatever.

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-13-20-34screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-13-20-45For this view, I have removed the closet so that the bed can be better seen. The bedframe on the right side is hung on a counterweighted pulley system, so that it can be lifted up, revealing an open space below. The left half of the bed then slides into this space.

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-13-21-46
You can see here how the right half lifts up to the ceiling, allowing the box below to be opened.Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 13.22.34.png
This box could be a ‘closet’ of sorts, for items of clothes that can be stored on a longer term. Items like a suitcoat, out-of-season apparel, and camping gear could live there. Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 13.23.15.pngThis space can also be used as a daybed with one of the mattress halves on it as a seat cushion.

I have spent a lot of time figuring out the details and schematics for how this system will work, and I think this is the best solution to the problem that faces all tiny housers; not enough floor space. I have been trying to maximize the space in my tiny by designing for how space will be used the majority of the time. Beds are only really used at the tail ends of each day, and they aren’t worth the wasted space for the bulk of the day. No, this system is not perfect, but it allows me to waste a minimal amount of space for the minimal amount of time, and use that space more efficiently when it needs to serve a double purpose.
It won’t be a permanent solution, but it will work until I have the time and money to add improvements (like a full bath in its place!).
Even after I finish the tiny house, I don’t think it will really be finished for several years to come, as I will continue to improve and update it as I have the time and money to do so.

Leave a Reply

